Featured Profile of Resilience: Anthony Javier Savoy

image shot by NYC Dance Project
image shot by NYC Dance Project

“As a young aspiring dancer it was hard for me to feel fully comfortable in my own skin, in and out of the studio, and that caused a lot of inner struggle. I had to find myself in all the voices and stay strong to who I was. I had to face my own truth and live in my own skin. During that time, I was told by perfect strangers what was best for me. I had been given, “try this” and “reconsider that” speeches. I had been pushed in directions that left me lost and confused. I decided to follow my own heart and mind, this gave me a new perspective on how I saw myself. I am living for me and making personal lefts and rights, where I see fit. No one could’ve¬†known where life would bring me, but I always had an idea of where I wanted to be. I’m not where I want to be but I am happy with where I stand. My choices, my direction, and defined solely by me. Soaking up every experience and learning from everyone who has passed through. I can say, I am happy with me. I am happy with who I am becoming. I am excited about my future and I’m living to be the truest me possible.
Don’t try to change the world. Develop your self-awareness and self-esteem, and as you step through the world it will have no choice but to bend around you. Make your mark and make sure it’s made on your own terms, in and out of the studio.”

Anthony Javier Savoy is a Ballet dancer with Dance Theatre of Harlem

Follow Anthony on Instagram at http://Instagram.com/sincerelyjavier

Also visit Anthony’s website at www.AnthonySavoy.com

Leave a Reply

